A Family Owned Local Business Since 1947
Hoag’s Catering had a humble beginning as a small delicatessen on High Street in Bellefonte, PA. The business started as a partnership between Mrs. Frank Hoag, the owner of the deli, and William Moerschbacher, Sr., who focused on catering banquets. After William returned from the US Army in 1947, he purchased the business. Over time, the business evolved into a complete catering service. In the early days, Hoag’s Catering was the only catering company in the area, with Penn State University as a major customer. In 1979 after graduating from college and serving in the U.S. Navy, Skip Moerschbacher operated the business in partnership with his brother, William, Jr. In 1986 Skip became the sole proprietor of Hoag’s Catering.
A keystone of excellence in customer service, paired with a great “quality to value perception” are philosophies that have kept the business thriving & expanding, even in the most difficult of economic climates. In 1994, Skip moved the catering business to its current location in State College, and established Celebration Hall. Perched on a hillside with views of Mount Nittany, Celebration Hall is a convenient and attractive banquet facility – headquarters to Hoag’s Catering. The banquet hall features six private rooms, when combined form two large rooms which can seat up to 250 guests each. Celebration Hall features banquet rooms with working fireplaces, natural lighting, an atrium lobby with a built in bar, plus outdoor balconies, a picturesque water garden, and plenty of free on-site parking. Today, Hoag’s Catering still continues the traditions that founded the business many years ago- like our legendary char-grilled chicken halves, deep fried peanuts, homemade carrot cake & a family style business relationship with our customers.